RBI to Withdraw Coins of Lower Denominations

16 March 2011: From this June 30th, RBI has decided to stop any legal payment and circulation of 25 paise coins and other coins with lower denominations. These coins can be exchanged for their worth across 41 banks in the country. These banks are:

Allahabad Bank, Andhra Bank, Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Corporation Bank, Dena Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Indian Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce, Punjab and Sindh Bank, State Bank of India, Syndicate Bank, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India, United Bank of India, Vijaya Bank, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Travancore, IDBI Bank Ltd, ICICI Bank Ltd, Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd, Dhanlaxmi bank Ltd, The Federal Bank Ltd, The Catholic Syrian Bank Ltd, The HDFC Bank Ltd, The Jammu and Kashmir Bank Ltd, The Karur Vysya Bank Ltd, The Laxmi Vilas Bank Ltd, ING Vysya Bank Ltd, Standard Chartered Bank, City Union Bank, Axis Bank Ltd and Karnataka Bank Ltd.

Source: Times of India