Telangana is the 29th State, Hyderabad will Remain the Common Capital for 10 Years

Yesterday, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) the highest policy-making body of the party and the UPA coalition unanimously decided that Telangana will be formed as a separate state.

With the separation of Telangana from Andhra Pradesh, Telangana will be 29th state of India. The Congress also decided that Hyderabad will be made the joint capital of Telangana and Seemandhra for a period of 10 years.

The districts that will be a part of Telangana are Hyderabad, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Mahaboobnagar, Rangareddy and Warangal.

There are 42 Lok Sabha seats and 294 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, with the separation of Telangana, it is likely to have 17 Lok Sabha seats and 119 Assembly seats.

The recent (1 Aug’13) press conference held by Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde in Delhi has few more points on the issue.

  • The bill for the division of Andhra Pradesh (which was assumed to be presented in the monsoon session of Parliament beginning August 5) will not be present in the monsoon session.
  • The Government would try to complete all the formalities to set up a new State in six months which in general takes 8-9 months.
  • Though the AP state Assemble did not pass a resolution for the creation of Telangana State, since they have already discussed on it the Center will move forward according to the Constitution.

Keep coming back for latest updates on this issue.

You may also like to read:
Educated Middle Class Professionals in Hyderabad Will Be by and Large Unaffected by Telangana Decision