Andhra Pradesh’s New Capital: An Overview

On June 2, 2014, the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh was divided into two states – Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The new capital city of Andhra Pradesh will be located in Vijayawada – Guntur area. The official announcement to this effect was made in the state assembly on September 5, 2014, by the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Nara Chandrababu Naidu. Ever since the announcement has been made, the focus of people has been turned towards the AP’s capital. Everyone is searching for the latest updates of the capital city of AP, with an anxiety to know what is happening in the state. But, people are not able to get all the information regarding AP’s capital at a glance. So, to help those people I have come up with this article. It is an informative article on AP’s capital. So, start reading this.

Enlarge image

Locations of Hyderabad City Center 40 Skyscrapers


Andhra pradesh's new capital

Where is the exact location of AP’s capital?

This is the first question that arises in the minds of the people, when we talk about the AP’s capital. It is already declared that the capital will be in the region between Vijayawada and Guntur cities (i.e., 20km north of Guntur (Tulluru and Mangalagiri) and 15km south-west of Vijayawada (Ibrahimpatnam and Kanchakacharla))

Villages included in the capital region

The capital region will incorporate six sectors in 17 villages; of which, 14 villages are in Tullur Mandal (Apparajupalem, Borupalem, Dondapadu, Lingayapalem, Mandadam, Malkapuram, Mudalingayapalem, Nekkallu, Nelapadu, Rayapudi, Sakamuru, Thullur, Uddandarayapalem, and Velagapudi) and the remaining three villages are in Mangalagiri Mandal (Kuragallu, Neerukonda, and Nidamarru).

Boundaries of AP’s proposed capital

Another important point that grabs the responsiveness of the people is – about the boundaries of AP’s capital city. The boundaries of AP’s proposed capital will be in a “Rectangular Shape” and they are as follows:

  • Guntur Auto Nagar to Prakasham Barrage (EAST);
  • Borupalem to 8 km Point along 75 km Inner Ring Road (WEST);
  • Borupalem to Prakasham Barrage along the river (NORTH);
  • Auto Nagar Y-Junction to 16 km Point along 75 km Inner Ring Road (SOUTH).

Acres of land required for the capital

In order to build the proposed capital city of AP, the state government has planned the construction in 2 phases. In the first phase, the core area of the capital will come up in 30,000 acres in six sectors of 5000 acres each in Mangalagiri and Tullur. Core area in these six sectors will comprise of government buildings that include Secretariat, Assembly, government quarters and the residential development etc.
In the next phase, the other areas will come up in a total area of 60,000 acres or 1 lakh acres in the new capital.

Land Pooling System (LPS)/Land Acquisition Act

To gather the land from the farmers for AP’s capital, the government has implemented land pooling system. The Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu said that the reason for adopting the land pooling system was to extend the economic benefits to the farming community. Under this system the government will undertake the following:

  • 50% of lands will be marked for common assets.
  • It is also planned to return developed plots of 1,000 square yard per acre to the farmers within 9 months from the date of completion of pooling.
  • It is further disclosed that it was also decided to give the additional incentives of Rs 25,000 per acre, and 5 percent increase at the rate of each year i.e., for a period of 10 years or till the first transaction, would be given to the land owners.
  • The framers were also given exemption from paying the registration fee, stamp duty and NALA.
  • For the landless poor i.e., who will lose their livelihood because of land-pooling, a training for improving their skills will be given; and also, they will be secured with alternative employment.

If the farmers don’t agree to part their lands under LPS, the government said that they would invoke the land acquisition act.

CRDA Agency for AP’s capital master plan

Recently, the state government of AP has approved a bill for setting up the Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA) agency, in place of VGTM-UDA authority, for creating a body to be tasked with building the new capital of the state. The chairman of the agency will be the Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu. The CRDA will replace the existing VGTM-UDA and would prepare a master plan as well as some other special development plans.

Outer Ring Road (ORR)

An outer ring road will also come up in the capital region; and for this, the government also prepared a draft map covering the regions of Vijayawada, Tenali and Guntur.

The 180km ORR will an eight lane road with two separate service lanes on either side i.e., it will touch NH-5 near Guntur and crosses NH-9 near Kanchikacharla.

The places that ORR covers are:

  • ORR will takeoff from NH-5 near Hanuman Junction and will pass through Ramapuram, Tummalapalli, Nandivada, Gudivada, Pamarru and Bhatlapenumarru before it crosses the Krishna River.
  • Then, before entering the Guntur city, it will pass through Jampani, Chinaravuru, Veliveru and Vejendla.
  • In Guntur City, ORR will pass through Perecherla, Siripuram, Lingamguntla, Pedakurapadu, Tammavaram and reaches Amaravati, where it will cross the Krishna and land on the other end in Mogullur at Krishna district.
  • From Mogullur, ORR will pass through Kanchikacherla, Alluru, outskirts of Mylavaram, outskirts of Nuzvid and Meerjapuram, finally touching Hanuman Junction.

However, it is likely that changes will be made by the state government in the draft plan of the ORR, based on the master plan prepared for the capital city.

These are the major things that everyone should know about the AP’s capital.

You may also like to read:
Singapore to Design Andhra Pradesh’s New Capital

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.6/5 (9 votes cast)
Andhra Pradesh's New Capital: An Overview, 4.6 out of 5 based on 9 ratings

1 comment for “Andhra Pradesh’s New Capital: An Overview

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *