Madras Province

The area represented in green color is the Madras Presidency. The area in darker shade of green represents the Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema districts, administered as part of Madras Presidency, which formed as Andhra state on October 1, 1953 with Kurnool as its capital city.

Note: Details of Ganjam District’s division between Odisha and Andhra states, not demarked here.

<< Back to Formation of Andhra Pradesh.